Scotlands Boarding Hostel

Boarding at New Plymouth Girls’ High School’s Scotlands Hostel provides a caring and supportive environment where students are encouraged to do well academically and participate fully in the sporting, cultural and social life of the school.

Features of life at Scotlands:

  • Warm, caring and secure environment.
  • Modern complex; motel style units.
  • Full access to school grounds and facilities beyond the school day.
  • 150 boarders - Years 9 to 13.
  • Excellent staff/student ratio and active 24-hour care.
  • Homework supervised by a trained teacher. Tuition in time-management and study skills that contributes towards excellent academic results.
  • Clear guidelines with a degree of flexibility for meeting individual needs.
  • Active and supportive extra-curricular programme.
  • High expectations of courtesy and acceptable behaviour.
  • Leadership opportunities and training.
  • Increased independence encouraged at all levels.
  • Year 13 House provides an opportunity for a “flatting” experience in a supportive, well equipped environment.
  • Rich and diverse cultures.
  • Boarders make a notable cultural, academic, social, sporting and leadership contribution to the life of the school.
  • The independence, maturity and lifelong friendships that boarding encourages are excellent foundations for adult life.

Dates for your diary

The Hostel will re-open on Sunday 28 January 2018 for the following students at times given.
  • Year 13 - 12 noon-2pm (time to settle in before year 9s arrive)
  • Year 9 - 2pm-4pm (parents will need to leave by 5pm)
The 2018 school year will begin at 9.00am with a Powhiri on Tuesday 30 January for new students and Year 13. Families and whanau are invited to attend. Other year levels are staggered through the week and are expected in the hostel on the dates below. The students will begin school the following morning.

  • Monday 29 January - Orientation day for All Year 9 & Year 13
  • Tuesday 30 January - Year 12 return to the hostel by 5pm / All Year 9 & Year 13 begin school
  • Wednesday 31 January - Year 11 return to the hostel by 5pm / Year 12 begin school
  • Thursday 1 February - Year 10 return to the hostel by 5pm / Year 11 begin school
  • Friday 2 February - All year groups attend school
Term 1
  • Monday 5 February - Teacher Only Day
  • Tuesday 6 February - Waitangi Day
  • Monday 12 March - Taranaki Anniversary Day
  • Thursday 29 March - HOSTEL CLOSES 4PM FOR EASTER
  • Tuesday 3 April - HOSTEL OPENS 2PM
  • Friday 13 April - Hostel Closes 4pm End of Term 1
Term 2
  • Sunday 29 April - Hostel Opens 2pm
  • Friday 6 July - Hostel Closes 4pm End of Term 2
SCHOOL TERM DATES 2018
  • Term 1 Mon 30 Jan - Fri 13 April
  • Term 2 Mon 30 April - Fri 6 July
  • Term 3 Mon 23 July - Fri 28 Sept
  • Term 4 Mon 15 Oct - Fri 14 Dec

Enrolment Contact


Lorraine Collier - Hostel Manager
Email: scotlands-manager@npghs.school.nz
Phone: 06 757-3840
Fax: 06 758-5641

Forms

Scotlands Hostel Application Form (PDF) View
Scotlands Hostel Boarding Fees (PDF) View
Scotlands Hostel Handbook (PDF) View

Newsletter

Scotlands Hostel Newsletter View